Why I Believe in God

I thought you all would like this article compliments of Alan Ray.  My personal opinion, is we should all have well founded reasons for our faith and in what we believe.  Please read and enjoy!

May God richly bless you all!

MK Murphy, PhD, DD

Why I Believe in God – A Believer’s Answer to an Atheist
What is it with the atheists these days? Lately I’ve read a lot of web articles written by angry atheists including many news articles about those crazy Christians and what superstitious fools they are, and that science has proven there is no God and Darwin was right and blah, blah, blah, ad infinitum, ad nauseum.

Well I disagree with them all. I am a theist, the opposite of an atheist. I am one who believes in the Divine, who believes that all of life in its magnificence, beauty, splendor, wonder, and its finely tuned order is by design. And where you have intelligent design, isn’t it reasonable to assume that there is an intelligent designer? I believe it is and I believe that designer to be God — the God of the entire universe and everything in it, including us.

Recently, I read an article by Greta Christina, a self-acclaimed atheist who writes for an online news source. Most of what she writes, from what I could gather, is about how feeble minded Christians are and that there is no evidence whatsoever of God’s existence. I’ve got a problem with this already. If you don’t believe in God, that’s your own business, but I can’t help wonder why someone who doesn’t believe in a Creator would spend so much time writing articles about not believing. If you didn’t believe there was a Loch Ness monster, would you waste your time interviewing people who did and then write about how wrong they are?

Also, when I read the answers she stated believers have given in response to her question “Why do you believe in God?” (although she didn’t quote anyone), it sounded as though there weren’t three firing neurons between them. Answers like, “Because…well because…since I don’t know, God had to have done it all!” or some such nonsense. It conjured up an image of mindless members of the God Squad…eyes glazed, slowly walking the Earth with outstretched arms muttering “God did it…God did it…” I don’t have all the answers. But I do have some better answers than that and I’m going to lay them out for you.

I could list a thousand reasons from the pages of my own life for believing in God, but that would be admittedly, a very subjective viewpoint. I want to give you what I think is some really good objective evidence for an Intelligent Designer. That’s what she asked for in her article. At one point, she asks for believers to give her some valid, scientific reasons for God’s existence so she could prove them wrong. Well, I did what she asked and sent it to her editor. I never heard back. So now I want to share with you some of what she wrote in her original article entitled: ‘Why ‘Everything Has a Cause’ Is a Terrible Justification for God’s Existence,” combined with my rebuttal.

Why I Believe in God – The Disproving Test
Firstly, I want to say that I believe God should be the default here. Meaning, I feel I shouldn’t have to prove His existence that it should be on the atheist to prove his/her case to the contrary. I’m no scientist, but I believe there is enough scientific evidence to support a designer. Greta certainly offered nothing scientific in her article as to why she doesn’t believe. No wait, I take that back. She did say this, and I quote: “And every single attempt to demonstrate the existence of any supernatural force or entity affecting the universe — at least, every attempt using careful, rigorous, double-blinded, placebo-controlled, etc. scientific methods — has fallen flat on its face.”…[read more]

Leave a Reply

