Who’s My Neighbor?

neighbor1The discussions that Jesus had with others; more specifically, the question by the lawyer as to which was the greatest command (Matthew 22:36-40) and the Parable of the Good Samaritan (Luke 10:25-37) pretty much sum up who our neighbor is.

samaritan_2I am, quite often, humbled at work. All too often people are not where they need to be in order to do their job, but those of us left in the area are the ones tasked to “pick up the slack” of those who choose not to be there. Especially since they are paid to be there to do the work. Unfortunately, in the past I have allowed those individuals to live rent free in my cerebrum. But God has moved me to a different place where I can show His love by just doing my job and moving in to their areas and get the job done, as I am paid to simply do a job that has specific tasking. If management chooses not to deal with the problem(s) at hand, then that is their problem.  I am there to work, not be the boss.

It is humbling, because you know we all have the same job to do…and some just don’t seem to want to work. In this manner, by not worrying about that garbage anymore, I can be a good neighbor. I no longer have to concern myself with anything else, because it is not my worry, I just get paid to do grunt work.

neighborAnd who is my neighbor? Everyone is my neighbor! I can show God’s love in a small, and perhaps insignificant way at work.  We can all do the same with those who live near by and are having problems. We cannot necessarily help everyone, but we can help someone…someone we know…maybe, even, someone we do not know. But we can help someone in some small and insignificant way in our eyes, but in their eyes it may be a big help and with others it may not even get noticed by those we help. But WE know we did something! Didn’t Jesus tell us:

“Then He also said to him who invited Him, “When you give a dinner or a supper, do not ask your friends, your brothers, your relatives, nor rich neighbors, lest they also invite you back, and you be repaid. But when you give a feast, invite the poor, the maimed, the lame, the blind. And you will be blessed, because they cannot repay you; for you shall be repaid at the resurrection of the just.”” ~Luke 14:12-Luke 14:14 NKJV

In other words, we are to help those who cannot repay us. It is in their eyes that you may see the face of Jesus.

 

May God Richly Bless You All!

MK Murphy, PhD, DD

Leave a Reply

